Life Lesson #6: There is NEWNESS for me in 2015

At the start of 2015, someone encouraged me to take some time to pray and write out a “year theme” for my life. Its purpose was to serve as a daily reminder as I looked upon it. In order to make the best of this challenge, I typed it up and hung it in a place where I would see it multiple times a day. I was informed that there is a greater probability of completion and success if one is to physically write out one’s goals, and speak them over oneself out loud daily.

So, I did. And that brings me to today’s Life Lesson…

“There is NEWNESS for me in 2015.”

New year 2015 wallpaper grunge effect on black.

That was my “year theme” which I felt the Lord speaking over me and my life during this new year.

  • Newness in my walk with the Lord and intimacy with His Holy Spirit.
  • Newness in my relationship with my wife and future baby.
  • Newness in my calling as a Kid’s Pastor.
  • Newness in my creativity as a writer/director.
  • Newness in my home life.
  • Newness in my church life.
  • Newness in my family life.

One day I looked down and noticed that we are already halfway through this new year. Time does fly.

I saw my “year theme” so much that I soon forgot it was there. As I forgot about its powerful words and constant presence, I also forgot to take notice of the changes going on in my life. Could it be that the changes in my life were connected to this “year theme” I had been praying and speaking over my life?

1) Newness in my walk with the Lord and intimacy with His Holy Spirit.

Even though I have not had face to face encounters with God, I have noticed that my dependability on Him has increased over the past several months. I may not sit in a chair in utter silence reading the Bible or  I may not be on my knees in prayer, as worship music plays in the background, for hours on end, but I have been receiving more words of LIFE from God’s Word as I meditate in small portions. I may not be taking 40 day fasts, but I have been seeing God move on my behalf as I simply stay in constant communication with Him as I go about my day.

2) Newness in my relationship with my wife and future baby, and family life.

In case you have not been following my blog or Facebook, my wife and I are expecting our first baby late July 2015! We have been happily married for a little over 4 years now and were greatly anticipating the start of this new chapter as we add a new member to Team Meek. God saw to it that we were ready to accept the giant responsibility of being parents, and my wife and I are so blessed to be surrounded by family and friends who care enough about us to cover us in love, prayers, and support as we welcome our little girl, Harmony Dawn Meek, into the world. My relationship with my wife has only gotten closer and closer with each passing day as we work hard together getting ready for the arrival of this new person that was created out of our love for one another.

3) Newness in my calling as a Kid’s Pastor and church life and home life.

So, I received a phone call one day about a job offer as a Kid’s Pastor at an amazing church in Oklahoma. This church saw my youtube page and quickly called me up asking if I would come visit them one weekend.  My wife and I knew we would not move, especially with a new baby on the way. Still, we went to visit the church during Mother’s Day Weekend, and quickly fell in love with the kids ministry, the pastors, the heart and vision of the church, the congregation, and the people in Oklahoma. But, we still didn’t want to move, and we prayed to God asking Him to make it perfectly clear through a dream or prophetic word (from someone who knew nothing of Oklahoma) as we “counted the cost” together.

We looked into selling our house, buying a new house, moving cost, etc. Both set of parents were sad that we would be taking the first grandchild, on both sides, a little further away, but they were excited for us and the opportunity God was opening up for us as I encouraged and reminded them of Psalm 127:3-5 that says “children are arrows in the hands of each parent, and they shoot them out into the world to make a difference for God’s Kingdom.” (paraphrased)

The night of my wife’s Ordination, a pastor (who we do not personally know) prayed over her, and our lives. He prayed sweet blessings over her and her spirit, and then he started saying, “Its time to stop counting the costs. Its time to make room for the new. You’re pioneers and polished arrows in God’s quiver.”

That was it! We broke down in tears and laughter as we knew in our spirits that God was releasing us from Texas and that He was beautifully orchestrating each event behind this whole thing.

So, we’re moving! We’re selling our home and buying a new one and will be staying in Dallas until Harmony is born. I will work from home as my wife continues to work as well for insurance purposes so our baby’s birth is covered. Then, my wife gets to fulfill her dreams of being a stay at home mom taking care of her family and home. I am so proud of her and I am so happy to know that ONLY God is leading us out of Texas and into Oklahoma for bigger and better things for our family!

4) Newness in my creativity as a writer/director.

Right before the church in Oklahoma reached out to me, I was being beat down by the enemy so much that I started to believe the lies he was whispering into my head.

“You’re worthless. You’re pathetic. You’re not meant to be a kid’s pastor, let alone serving a local church on staff. You’re not doing a good job. In fact, you’re messing everything up. You didn’t go to school for this remember? You studied music. Maybe you should pursue that instead. Then again, you’re not good at that either. Just give up and go work a normal 9-5, Monday-Friday job like everyone else.”

Even though I knew it was all lies, I heard them so much that day I started to believe them. I went home feeling defeated as I unloaded it all on my wife as I began to explain to her how I was feeling that day. After our talk I checked my email and saw this:

“Hi Chris,

I just wanted to let you know that your videos on you tube have reached beyond your church.  I am the Children’s Director at a church in Okotoks, Canada.  I have enjoyed listening to your heart and seeing your enthusiasm for kids!

Thank you for encouraging me and for the work that you are doing to enrich children’s lives.

MaryAnn

I read that email out loud to my wife and instantly broke in tears as all the lies from the enemy were instantly washed away by God’s Truth. I remember many main characters in the Bible who did not go to school or prepare to be in the leadership position God placed them in, but God simply called them into the positions and led them each way through their failures AND victories. I am a David. I am a Gideon. I am a Moses. I am a disciple of Jesus Christ.

I wrote back to this lady thanking her beyond words for taking the time to write that to me. God saw me in my battle, saw I needed His help, and chose to use a random woman clear across the continent to build me up and remind me that I am doing what I have been called to do. Even when things seem bleak and dark, God is right by my side and His Word is a light to my path!

There is NEWNESS for me in 2015! 

  • I am getting a new baby girl!
  • I am starting a new job!
  • We’re moving to a new state!
  • We’re getting a new house!
  • In a new town!
  • With new people!
  • Serving at a new church!
  • Basically…. it’s a whole new life in a whole new ADVENTURE!

I share all this with you because I want you to know that there is NEWNESS for YOU in 2015! I share all this with you today because, I want to to be an email from someone in “Canada” to you.  

No matter where you are right now, and no matter what is going tumblr_lxutqkvgkj1qz6f9yo1_r1_500on in your life,  God sees you right where you are.

If you’re going through a tough time in your life, He is right by your side, even when you don’t feel Him.

If you’re going through a great time in your life, He is rejoicing with you!

Declare over your life that there is “NEWNESS for me in 2015!”

Declare over your life that, “He who was seated on the throne has already said, “I am making everything new!” (Revelation 21:5)

“Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: The old has gone, the new is here!” (2 Corinthians 5:17)

Its time to make room for the new! Stop believing the lies of the devil and stand strong on God’s promises!

Christopher Meek

3 thoughts on “Life Lesson #6: There is NEWNESS for me in 2015

  1. Amen amen amen, Chris! So happy to hear about the NEW and wonderful ways God is using you and Melody to further God’s Kingdom and share His heart with the world and especially His children. You are and always have been an encouragement and inspiration to those who know you. I pray God always reminds you of that when you need to hear it. God bless you all three!

    Like

  2. You had me in tears reading this Chris. I am so excited for yall, and so encouraged by your words. Yall have been on my mind SO MUCH lately, I was seriously just thinking about inviting yall to come visit us in Oklahoma and now you’re moving here! Awesome!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Life Lesson #12: There is PURPOSE for me in 2017 | matthewfivefive

Leave a Reply

